Move

“All the ways of a man are pure in his own eyes, but the Lord weighs the spirits (the thoughts and intents of the heart). Roll your works upon the Lord [commit and trust them wholly to Him; He will cause your thoughts to become agreeable to His will, and] so shall your plans be established and succeed.”  Proverbs 16:2-3

Building upon the thoughts of success and failure, this verse was put before me.  Sometimes in the past, I have made decisions that I was leary about moving forward with for fear of failure or embarrassment.  Most of those times, I had inadvertently left out the One who could set my path straight.  As you read this verse, you see that it is more important to keep your intentions in check.  Your methods will then be guided in agreement with His will and you will succeed.

When I see this, I think “processes”, but all of the best processes in the world will fail if the intent is not in line.  There is an exercise for managers called “The 5 Why’s”.  The intent of the exercise is to get to the root of the issue by asking the purpose.

Example:

Problem:  I was late to work today

Why?:  Because my car broke down

Why?:  Because I didn’t put oil in it

Why?:  Because I was too busy writing my blog.

Why?:  Because I am wanting to make lots of money

Why?:  Because I am dissatisfied with my job

You get the idea.  It is a cause and effect issue.  Usually, by the 5th “Why”, you have got a good source but it can be carried further.

This is a building block, a gap that every parent should teach their children to an exhaustive degree.  Your actions do not just influence you.

buildingBricks

So taking this back up to your intent and process, figure out why you are moving.  If you can get to the core, remind yourself of it every day.  Place a sign on your computer monitor.  Wallpaper on your phone, tablet or computer.  Put it on your prayer list, if you do one.  Set an event or reminder on a calendar program to send you an email every morning about it.

Stagnant:  Having no current or flow, showing no activity; dull and sluggish and often having an unpleasant smell as a consequence.

I don’t think that this describes your purpose.

Your life was not meant to gather dust.

In one word…

Move

One thought on “Move

Leave a Reply

