Glimmer – Part 1

Have you ever had one of those moments where you caught a glimmer of that feeling “This is what I am called to do” and it was gone before you could grasp it. You felt a “flow” and it felt good. Well it is frustrating and satisfying at the same time, but a simple rule to follow and a little preparation can help you to get back into that groove.

It applies to a rule that tech support people are taught to single out the source of a problem. When a customer is having an issue with their tech product, support is instructed to ask “What were you doing when the event occurred?” or “What was changed in the time leading up to the event?”. Of course, this is referring to a detrimental event but the same applies to the “A-ha” moment we are talking about. The “flow” will come back but it needs to have the appropriate environment to flourish.

Now this does not just mean that you get in the same place, at the same time and wait for it. There is preparation needed and it may be something that you already do and do not even know it.

1. Part of this is to detail what you were doing and why, possibly by writing it down as a journal.

2. This second part is crucial and takes discipline. Map out your schedule to get to a time of doing those things on a regular basis. If you are not in the habit of following a schedule or method, it can be very difficult.

I have to be vague on the instruction because your “flow” is different than mine but I can give an example that I have experienced.

My last post was concerning direction and over time, I have found that writing out these posts have helped me define much of what I believe and put it into practice. It is a process that cannot be hurried but can die away if not cultivated. That is a subject for another post.

I have a prayer list that I go over every morning. Sometimes, believe it or not, I do not like to do it. Sorry that I am not perfect but, yes, it is true. But I saw something this morning that I had not seen before and would not have if I had not been forcing myself into that habit. My concerns, my prayers, my thoughts were being directed. Did you get that? I actually need to think on that more right now…just being real here. More to come…

Leave a Reply

