Alterations

Lately, I have been struggling to get up at my usual time in the morning.  My usual time is not actually when I have to get up but when I am choosing to get up to do the things I felt were important; things I feel are important to do before I start my day. The talk that I put myself through is ridiculous when I look back at it but at the time, it is very convincing.

 

Why is it then that the things I say to myself, while agonizing about getting up, actually exist at all. When I take the time to think about it, I see that they really have no merit or foundation. So, why am I getting up so early?

 

The brand of a man has discipline and humility. My effort to get up is solely based on knowing that I, myself, do not have all the answers to best run my life. My rising up early is to find direction and focus so that each day has that, not just wandering. I deserve it. My family deserves it. My workplace deserves it. Actually everyone I come in contact with, deserves it. It is important and the discipline to carry it out is an attribute that I wish to develop.

 

Zig Ziglar once said that on the average, a person will have a lifelong effect on 3-4 people per week. That means that of all I do, 3-4 people per week may have their direction in life altered because of some actions that I may take. How am I altering the lives of others?

 

Leave a Reply

